© 2024 WSHU
NPR News & Classical Music
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Delaware, Alaska Added Back To Travel Advisory; Washington Comes Off

Seth Wenig

Delaware and Alaska have been added back a COVID-19 travel advisory for travelers entering Connecticut, New York and New Jersey. The state of Washington was removed from the list.

Travelers from 34 states, along with Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, must fill out a questionnaire upon arriving in the tri-state area, and quarantine for 14 days.

Violators in Connecticut face $1,000 fines — $2,000 in New York, with the possibility of a court appointed quarantine.

States that manage to keep their COVID-19 infection rates down are able to be removed from travel advisory.

Here's a full list:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virgin Islands
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin
A native Long Islander, J.D. is WSHU's managing editor. He also hosts the climate podcast Higher Ground. J.D. reports for public radio stations across the Northeast, is a journalism educator and proud SPJ member.