© 2023 WSHU
NPR News & Classical Music
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Conn., N.Y. And N.J. Enact Regional Quarantine To Mitigate COVID Spread

Covid Act Now via Office of Conn. Gov. Ned Lamont
Connecticut, New York, New Jersey and Massachusetts are the only states in the nation on track to contain the spread of COVID-19, as of Wednesday morning. Data from Covid Act Now, a partnership with Stanford, Georgetown and Grand Rounds.

New York, Connecticut and New Jersey will require travelers to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival if they come from states with high COVID-19 infection rates.

Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont says some states have seen a large spread of the virus among younger people and people more likely to travel.

“We’re not an island, and as we look around the rest of the country, we have seen not just spikes, but we have seen real community spread. Better than 10% positivity rate in a number of these states we’re talking about right now.”

Arizona, Texas and Florida are among states where coronavirus cases have spiked recently.

New York Governor Andrew Cuomo says the goal is to maintain the wins made against the virus since infections began rising in March.

“You look at where we are now, we did a full 180 degrees. We went from the highest cases, the highest viral transmission rate, to some of the lowest rates in the country.”

Davis Dunavin loves telling stories, whether on the radio or around the campfire. He started in Missouri and ended up in Connecticut, which, he'd like to point out, is the same geographic trajectory taken by Mark Twain.
Related Content