© 2024 WSHU
NPR News & Classical Music
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
89.9 FM is currently running on reduced power. 89.9 HD1 and HD2 are off the air. While we work to fix the issue, we recommend downloading the WSHU app.

Brandee Younger - Tiny Desk Concert

Harpist Brandee Younger
Harpist Brandee Younger

On a beautifully ornate harp and clad in a stunning yellow printed catsuit, Brandee Younger starts her Tiny Desk with a composition dating back to the 1900s — "Lift Ev'ry Voice and Sing," colloquially known as the "Black National Anthem" — then transitions into the title track of her newest album, Brand New Life. This particular transition between past and present is fitting as Younger, like harpists Alice Coltrane and Dorothy Ashby before her, has made a career of showcasing the role of the harp, a classical instrument dating back to antiquity, in not only contemporary popular music, but moreover, in music genres rooted in Black culture: jazz, R&B, and hip-hop.

As she reflected after her Desk on being included in NPR Music's celebration of Black Music Month, Younger remarked: "When you think of harps and harpists, you don't necessarily think of 'Black'. And so to be a part of that conversation as a harpist, it's a big deal." Her collaborations range from Robert Glasper and Makaya McCraven, to Moses Sumney, Ms. Lauryn Hill and Pete Rock. Compositions from her 2021 album, Somewhere Different, garnered her a Grammy nomination for best instrumental composition — the first for a Black woman — and an entry on NPR Music's 100 Best songs of 2021 list.

For her Tiny Desk, Younger presents some of her newest entries into the jazz harp canon. "Brand New Life" and "Moving Target" feature vocalist Tatiana "LadyMay" Mayfield's ethereal voice perfectly complimenting the transcendental tones of the harp, which is expanded into a one woman choir of sound through the use of vocal pedals. Younger closes with "Unrest I" and "Unrest II," composed during the height of both the COVID-19 pandemic and 2020's Black Lives Matter protests. In these two movements, Younger, drummer Allan Mednard and bassist Rashaan Carter stunningly convey a maelstrom of tension, confusion, upheaval and release, emotions undoubtedly present in many who similarly witnessed a world in confusion outside their windows at this time.

This concert was originally posted on June 28, 2023 as part of NPR's celebration of Black Music Month.


  • "Lift Ev'ry Voice and Sing"
  • "Brand New Life"
  • "Moving Target"
  • "Unrest I" 
  • "Unrest II"


  • Brandee Younger: harp
  • Rashaan Carter: bass
  • Allan Mednard: drums
  • Tatiana Mayfield: vocals


  • Producer: Mitra I. Arthur
  • Director/Editor: Kara Frame
  • Audio Engineer: Josh Rogosin
  • Creative Director: Bob Boilen 
  • Series Producer: Bobby Carter
  • Videographers: Kara Frame, Joshua Bryant, Michael Zamora
  • Audio Assistant: Kwesi Lee
  • Production Assistant: Ashley Pointer
  • Photographer: Zayrha Rodriguez 
  • Tiny Desk Team: Suraya Mohamed, Maia Stern, Hazel Cills
  • VP, Visuals and Music: Keith Jenkins
  • Senior VP, Programming: Anya Grundmann