In Connecticut the minimum wage has increased from $10.10 an hour to $11 an hour. That’s one of several new laws that took effect in the state Tuesday.
Under the new law Connecticut’s minimum wage will continue to increase by $1 a year until it reaches $15 an hour by 2023.
Some other laws that are now in effect include raising the smoking age from 18 to 21, a requirement for gun owners to safely store their weapons, and the dismissal of charges when a minor caught stealing a car completes a behavior program.
Also police officers, parole officers and firefighters can now receive certain worker’s compensation benefits for post-traumatic stress disorder.
Another new law retroactively seals the cases of certain adults tried for offenses committed when they were juveniles. A hundred and sixteen cases are affected, including that of Kennedy cousin Michael Skakel.