© 2024 WSHU
NPR News & Classical Music
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Beautiful Music NOW - Tango!


Histoire du Tango (composed in 1985) is a classic composition by the Argentine tango composer, bandoneon player, and arranger Astor Piazzolla. It is a four-movement piece that chronicles the history of tango music in segments of thirty-year intervals: Bordel 1900, Cafe 1930, Nightclub 1960, and Modern-Day Concert. Piazzolla composed it for flute and guitar, but it is performed in many different instrumentations. Today's Beautiful Music features a violin and marimba performance of Histoire du Tango by violinist Jiweon Moon and marimba player Sun-min Shim.

Suzanne Bona is the host and executive producer of Sunday Baroque, a nationally syndicated weekly radio show of Baroque and early music which she originated on WSHU in 1987.